General Conference, Elder Christofferson and Jesus Christ

What a marvelous conference! Elder Christofferson of the Twelve included these verses among others in his talk:

33 And whoso believeth in me, and is baptized, the same shall be saved; and they are they who shall inherit the kingdom of God.

34 And whoso believeth not in me, and is not baptized, shall be damned. (3 Nephi 11:33-34)

Truly, this man is a prophet of God! I have heard the first of these two verses many times. But only when I read the Book of Mormon do I get the second verse. I’m sure I have just missed them because I wasn’t paying attention on other occasions, but this time I was paying attention. Verse 33 is relatively meaningless without verse 34, and it drives me crazy when someone giving a Sacrament talk uses only the first one. They are a couplet. They are together for a reason. The Savior said them together in his sermon to the ancient Nephites, and they should be used together by his saints in these latter days.

When I realized that Elder Christofferson was quoting this passage, I gave his talk even greater attention. Would he use both verses? Hallelujah, he did! Once more I have another new hero.

One Response to General Conference, Elder Christofferson and Jesus Christ

  1. Terry says:

    This concept of Christian exclusivism used to trouble me a little until I realised that it makes sense. if you spend your life rejecting the concept of a Christian heaven and the efficaciousness of Christ’s atonement, then don’t be surprised if you end up in a place with others who believed the same. A place where Christ does not dwell and the consequences of sin have not been annulled. If you think Mormons are exclusive because they believe they are the only ones who will make it to a Mormon (I mean Christian in it’s full context) heaven, then don’t be surprised when those who rejected the idea, don’t get there. Atheists will go where all the atheists go; no heaven, no God., no exaltation. I think D&C 76 says it best.

Leave a Reply

