Condemning the Righteous and Letting the Wicked Go Unpunished

In Helaman 7:5 there is a scripture that has always fascinated me because it seems to describe our own day so well:

“Condemning the righteous because of their righteousness; letting the guilty and the wicked go unpunished because of their money; and moreover to be held in office at the head of government, to rule and do according to their wills, that they might get gain and glory of the world, and, moreover, that they might the more easily commit adultery, and steal, and kill, and do according to their own wills.”—

What do you think? Are we seeing any of this in our own day? Do the guilty go unpunished because of their money? Do our government leaders commit adultery, steal and kill to get gain and glory? What about wars fought for profit rather than for national defense? Is any of that going on today? If so, isn’t that killing for “gain and glory?” Perhaps I’m being paranoid, do you think? Tell me I’m wrong. Convince me it isn’t so. I would be a lot happier with the world I’m leaving to my children and grandchildren if I could be disabused of this negativity which I hope is just a paranoid delusion.

One Response to Condemning the Righteous and Letting the Wicked Go Unpunished

  1. harpingheather says:

    I wish I could help you but I’ve been feeling exactly the same way. However, the Nephites were able to pull their fat out of the fire by changing their ways. It’s not too late for us, just hard. We can do it!

Leave a Reply

