Is Jesus a God of Vengeance?

Call me bloodthirsty, but this is one of my favorite scriptures:

“And the Lord shall be red in his apparel, and his garments like him that treadeth in the wine-vat. And so great shall be the glory of his presence that the sun shall hide his face in shame, and the moon shall withhold its light, and the stars shall be hurled from their places. And his voice shall be heard: I have trodden the wine-press alone, and have brought judgment upon all people; and none were with me; And I have trampled them in my fury, and I did tread upon them in mine anger, and their blood have I sprinkled upon my garments, and stained all my raiment; for this was the day of vengeance which was in my heart.”

Is Jesus a God of vengeance? Will he right the wrongs that we see daily around us throughout our lives? Will the abusers get their just desserts? I know that God is love, and that he forgives those who repent of their sins. But will he see that justice is done for those who have been abused? Are the wicked going to get their comeuppance? Can those who refuse to seek revenge against their enemies count on the Lord to settle their scores? I love the God of mercy. But I also derive great satisfaction from all those scriptures that assure me he is also a God of justice. I have to forgive everyone, the repentant and unrepentant alike. But God can forgive whomever he pleases to forgive. And without repentance, there is no forgiveness through the Atonement of Jesus Christ. Is part of heaven seeing justice done?

2 Responses to Is Jesus a God of Vengeance?

  1. Osvaldo says:

    That one gives me shivers.

    Whether mortals should practice vengeance or not is open to debate. But there’s no doubt its a Christian sentiment. ‘Vengeance is mine,’ sayeth the Lord.

  2. will says:

    There are good, practical reasons for punishing wrongdoers. Among these are deterrence, incapacitation, and monetary compensation for damages. I don’t see a desire for vengeance as a worthy motivation.

    I’m human, and like most people, I like seeing jerks get what’s coming to them, but I don’t regard this personality trait of mine as Christian.

Leave a Reply

