Seek Not For Riches But For Wisdom

For me, one of the most comforting scriptures is D&C 6:7 which reads:

Seek not for riches but for wisdom, and behold, the mysteries of God shall be unfolded unto you, and then shall you be made rich. Behold, he that hath eternal life is rich.

I guess one of the reasons I find this verse so comforting is that it seems to let me off the hook when it comes to being financially successful, something that I have never had a gift for. If I had to stroke my own ego by pointing to my great financial or business success, I would be in sore need of an ego boost.

But how does one go about effectively seeking wisdom? Is it just a matter of keeping the commandments and practicing ones religion? Or is there more to it than that? I recently read a short introduction to philosophy at this website. Among other things it suggests

The word philosophy has meant different things at different times, often reflecting the culture of the day. Usually we understand the term to denote the love of wisdom, from the Greek; in this sense, as it was apparently used by Socrates, it gives the impression of someone who is seeking wisdom, not one who has found it. Thus we would only call someone a physicist, say, if he or she actually had some knowledge of physics; but we call by philosopher someone who is aiming at wisdom without necessarily achieving it.

Is this true? Is a study of philosophy necessary to a search for wisdom? If not, is it helpful? Can it be counterproductive? If a study of philosophy is useful, are all philosophies equally so? If not, how does one go about judging among them?

I would really like to answer some of these questions, but I don’t know how to begin. I have a few maxims that have always been among my favorites, but they hardly constitute a philosophy.

When you have a good thing, don’t mess it up.

The greatest of all ignorance is the ignorance of ignorance.

Try not to say things that will permanently damage your most important relationships.

Very little is actually what it seems to be.

Religion is more important than politics.

One Response to Seek Not For Riches But For Wisdom

  1. Clark Goble says:

    I think philosophy in the end is just rigorous thinking. It is as useful for wisdom as mathematics is for science. But at the same time we must not confuse pure mathematics for a scientific theory (which is empirical) and we must not confuse philosophical arguments for wisdom.

Leave a Reply

