Will McConkie’s Prophecy Come True?

In April General Conference of 1980, Elder Bruce R. McConkie made some prophesies relating to the future of the world and the Latter-day Saints. Will these prophesies come true?

“Nor are the days of our greatest sorrows and our deepest sufferings all behind us. They too lie ahead. We shall yet face greater perils, we shall yet be tested with more severe trials, and we shall yet weep more tears of sorrow than we have ever known before.””We see the Lord break down the barriers so that the world of Islam and the world of Communism can hear the message of the restoration; and we glory in the fact that Ishmael—as well as Isaac—and Esau—as well as Jacob—shall have an inheritance in the eternal kingdom.”

“We see evil forces everywhere uniting to destroy the family, to ridicule morality and decency, to glorify all that is lewd and base. We see wars and plagues and pestilence. Nations rise and fall. Blood and carnage and death are everywhere. Gadianton robbers fill the judgment seats in many nations. An evil power seeks to overthrow the freedom of all nations and countries. Satan reigns in the hearts of men; it is the great day of his power.”

“Truly the world is and will be in commotion, but the Zion of God will be unmoved. The wicked and ungodly shall be swept from the Church, and the little stone will continue to grow until it fills the whole earth.”

“The way ahead is dark and dreary and dreadful. There will yet be martyrs; the doors in Carthage shall again enclose the innocent. We have not been promised that the trials and evils of the world will entirely pass us by.”

These are just a few interesting quotes from the talk. The whole thing is worth reading.

I especially found interesting his prediction that the “wicked and ungodly shall be swept from the Church.” Are the wicked and ungodly really that big a problem in today’s Church? How are they to be swept out? By excommunication? I used to think that perhaps the Lord would reveal some doctrine that was really offensive to members who do not have strong testimonies, restoring plural marriage perhaps. But over the years I have come to think that something else is even more probable: the Internet! I think that the Internet is going to cleanse the Church of those who do not have strong testimonies. With the emergence of the Internet, anti-Mormons, former Mormons, dissidents within the Church, and crusading apostates have found a way to publish their filthy, lying propaganda far more effectively than ever before.

In the past, they haven’t been able to reach the saints at Church very well. And unless one lives in central Utah, the saints are not much exposed to apostate books and magazines on the newsstands and in bookstores. But here on the Internet they are free to serve the devil with great cunning and craftiness, preaching false doctrine, spreading a spirit of criticism towards the Brethren, and deliberately undermining the testimonies of the saints.

Are they effective? You bet they are. Large numbers of saints are leaving the Church because of the Internet. If you don’t believe me, just do a Google search on the term “Mormon” and see how highly ranked the most prominent apostate websites are. One of them is ranked right up there at the top just under the three main Church websites. Search other popular keywords such as LDS, Joseph Smith, and Book of Mormon. You will find that apostates and other anti-Mormons have websites that rank highly there too. The same is true on the other major search engines. And nearly everyone who uses the Internet rely on these major search engines.

So how many saints will remain after these apostates and dissidents have done their evil work? No one knows. But of one thing we may be sure. The remaining saints will be those who receive personal revelation, the true and faithful, the steadfast, and those who are valiant in the testimony of Jesus. Satan rages in the hearts of men and women across the Internet. But so does the spirit of the Lord among those who are the humble followers of Jesus Christ.

14 Responses to Will McConkie’s Prophecy Come True?

  1. Cheap Backlink Packages…

    […]Will McConkie’s Prophecy Come True? « The Iron Rod[…]…

  2. Claude Monet Ringtone…

    The Power Of God Ringtone The Power Of God Ringtone Joy Discovery Invention Ringtone Joy Discovery Invention Ringtone Guy Who Turned Her Down Ringtone Guy Who Turned Her Down Ringtone Tear It Up Ringtone Tear It Up Ringtone Been Swank Ringtone Been Swa…

  3. Kurt says:

    John, youre assuming nations=countries and not nations=peoples. When the Scriptures talk about nations, theyre talking about hereditary lines of peoples, not political countries. Missionaries dont have to be in every political country of the world for all the peoples of the world to receive the gospel.

  4. Kurt, what about the multitude of scriptures that declare the gospel will be preached in all nations before the Second Coming? Do not they imply that the nations of Islam will be opened to the preaching of the gospel? It seems to me that Elder McConkie’s prophecy is just a second witness to those scriptures. Or have I missed something?

  5. JWR,

    I guess that shows how sheltered I really am. I thought that some of my content, at least judging by some of the reactions I receive, WAS edgy. For the bloggernacle I guess it is a little, but if we are to include Recovery From Mormonism then I’m simply not even in the running.

    I admit that I’ve never been to that site. Quite frankily, it seems like a waste of time for anybody who doesn’t have serious issues with Mormons in general. I seriously doubt I could find it to be a reliable source of any information, be it pro or anti-Mormon. I imagine it’s a lot of “I heard that…” and so forth. But again, I’ve never actually been there, nor do I have any desire to.

  6. Kurt says:

    Back to the question John asked, I wouldnt expect any of the predictions McConkie made to be fulfilled that werent backed by Scripture. His comments on Islam are without much, or any, backing.

    The standard is “In the mouth of two or three witnesses”, right? If any one person comes along with a prediction, I dont care who it is, that isnt backed by other credible sources, then its a one-legged stool.

  7. Anonymous says:

    I think a bigger problem is that the church and its members have not realized the importance of the internet. This is why we get a lot more negative sites than positive sites.

    But I guess its easier to point fingers at the anti-sites than acknowledge our own shortcomings…

  8. Jeffrey, I was not referring to you but to other, far more virulent doubters. I recently used a pseudonym to look in on the Recovery from Mormonism site. It was the first time I had ever been there, and I was curious about how such a site could get a number four ranking on Google. That implies not only excellent linking, but high traffic. I was hoping that it would be primarily a site for nonmember anti-Mormons along with a few token ex-Mormons like Ed Decker, the Tanners, etc. I was appalled to discover the apparent ratio of never-Mormons to former Mormons, many of which had grown up in the Church and served missions. These guys have turned against the Lord’s chosen servants with their eyes wide open.

    Also, I have participated for over 13 years on the oldest and most heavily trafficked email discussion list for Mormons. And the apostasy on that list is a real eye opener, even though most of them grew up in the Church, many of them served missions, a lot of them are still active, and there are even high priests on the list. It seems there are people who think nothing of actively attending Church while despising the Brethren, especially Elder Packer. And I thought Baptists were hypocrites.

    I have seen very little of that in the bloggernacle so far. And I don’t believe I have seen it from you. So I was not referring to you.

    Besides, as most would agree, I am in no position to point fingers at anyone, nor do I have the stewardship to judge others. I judge doctrines and ideas, not people. I point out the doctrinal definitions of apostasy and false doctrine, and let the wicked decide if the shoe fits. I don’t do it for the Church. I do it to protect myself. I don’t want to lose my own testimony by hearkening to alternate voices. And the only way I can discern the alternate voices is by comparing their philosophies and teachings with those of the Brethren.

    What is the source of those false philosophies and teachings? The Book of Mormon clearly teaches that it is the devil.

  9. lynn says:

    Geoff J- While waiting up late for my teenager last night, I kept trying to put my finger on why one particular blog affected me like that. After all, there are some pretty spirited discussions going on on all of them. For the most part I found them informative, thought provoking, and even fun. So when I read JWR’s post this morning, it articulated some of what I was trying to figure out, especially this:

    “But here on the Internet they are free to serve the devil with great cunning and craftiness, preaching false doctrine, spreading a spirit of criticism towards the Brethren, and deliberately undermining the testimonies of the saints.”

    So anyway, I’m completely unqualified to point any public fingers. But I agree with what JWR says above. I think it’s fair to expect a self-proclaimed LDS blog to hold to a higher standard in topics chosen to post about, and how far to let the underminers go in their comments.

  10. just Johnna says:

    I don’t know that a large numbers of saints are leaving the church because of the internet. The google-rank of an exmormon site doesn’t tell me that that saints are leaving, in what number, or for what reason.

    John said: Are they effective? You bet they are. Large numbers of saints are leaving the Church because of the Internet. If you don’t believe me, just do a Google search on the term “Mormon” and see how highly ranked the most prominent apostate websites are.

  11. Sometimes I get the feeling that when people like John say things like this they are referring to me. I am especially inclined to think this since just yesterday John and I had an exchange of at Nine Moons where I simply wasn’t willing to grant the Church more credit than they have actually earned. Now I certainly don’t try to criticize church leaders, as both Geoff and Clark can attest to, but I’m certianly not very willing to put them on undeserved pedestals either. If they don’t claim something is a revelation, I probably won’t consider it one and this can be more than a little unsettling to some members. I try to keep things as grounded in reality as I can and sometimes this can come off as rather cynical.

  12. Geoff J says:

    John: “But of one thing we may be sure. The remaining saints will be those who receive personal revelation”

    I’ve wondered at my blog on a couple of occasions what the real value of Mormonism is to someone that receives no personal revelation. One can be very moral without the church. Even our covenants won’t save us if we have no personal relationship with God. Life eternal is to know God afterall — not to kow about him.

    Lynn — I am curious to know what site you are referring to. I am partially in charge of which sites are on LDSblogs.org and we can exclude any sites from that feed that we agree are detrimental to the community…

  13. Clark Goble says:

    I think it an interesting point. While I think we still have a long way to go for Islam to open up, one can see it as possible at this stage in a way I don’t think we could even five years ago. Of course that could go either way. But I know many, especially Evangelicals, like to see Islam as the enemy. I just can’t accept that since many if not most appear sincere devout followers of God with a more limited set of revelations to work from. I just can’t see them as the enemy of the last days. So I’ve long thought Islam has to open up more to the same problems we in the west face.

    Likewise regarding the purging of the Saints, I’ve long thought that would consist of some controversial command that would lead those without strong testimonies to deny the faith. (As happened many times in the early church – was polygamy mainly one of these tests rather than something essentially important?) Right now though you can see some of that coming true as the growth of the church has seriously stagnated the past few years.

    The other interesting prediction by McConkie (primarily from his reading of scripture from what I can tell) was his interpretation of the half hour of silence as relative peace for I think 21 years. I don’t know how to consider that. Is that something in the future (as I suspect) or 21 years prior to 9/11?

  14. lynn says:

    This is interesting to me because I spent several hours yesterday checking out some of the so-called bloggernacle sites. What a variety! But one in particular could be renamed “Summer Home in Babylon”. There were those calling good evil and evil good, there was plenty of speaking evil of the Lord’s annointed. Those speaking up for scriptural or prophetic point of view were shouted down by the resident snakes in the grass.
    Most of all, it just felt dark and bad.

Leave a Reply

