Does Satan Torment the Wicked in the Spirit Prison?

I once argued with a fellow saint about Satan’s role in the spirit world. I maintained that those who are wicked and unrepentant in this life, and who remained wicked and unrepentant in the spirit world go to the spirit prison rather than to paradise. I further maintained that in the spirit prison, the wicked are subject to the devil and his angels who will torment them until they leave the spirit prison, either when they repent and accept the gospel or when they are resurrected at the end of the Millennium.

My friend contradicted me. He said that Satan’s purpose is to tempt us while we are in mortality, but that his work is done when we die. Therefore, Satan will have no power over us in the spirit world regardless of whether we spend our time there in the spirit prison or in paradise.

I have been reviewing the scriptures related to this question, particularly in the Doctrine and Covenants, and I am still uncertain which of us is correct. Can any of you help me?

Leave a Reply

