On the Privilege of Attending Church Meetings

Occasionally we hear Latter-day Saints complain about the quality of our Church meetings. I have done it myself. Often the complaint is that the meetings are boring, or that they are mostly repetition, that there is nothing “new” to be learned. Here is a good editorial on the topic, and the part I enjoyed most was the following from President Spencer W. Kimball:

“We do not go to Sabbath meetings to be entertained or even simply to be instructed. We go to worship the Lord. It is an individual responsibility, and regardless of what is said from the pulpit, if one wishes to worship the Lord in spirit and in truth, he may do so by attending his meetings, partaking of the sacrament, and contemplating the beauties of the gospel. If the service is a failure to you, you have failed. No one can worship for you; you must do your own waiting upon the Lord.”

I testify that if I did not attend my Church meetings, I would be among the most sinful of telestial spirits in mortality. It is only through being constantly reminded in weekly Church meetings, especially the Sacrament service, that I do anything else for my eternal welfare. I know this from personal experimentation and sad experience. It is indeed a great privilege to attend weekly church meetings; and ultimately, it is the root of all the joy in my life.

3 Responses to On the Privilege of Attending Church Meetings

  1. just Johnna says:

    I am concerned there is something lacking in the teaching at church, when members can’t connect “in the world by not of the world” with Christ’s intercessory prayer.

    and most saints can’t.

    And the Book of Mormon, and the Doctrine and Covenants, are both make significant use of Biblical phrases. Which usually get missed.

  2. I didn’t know we needed an excuse for that. I certainly don’t. I only put into my assignment whatever I feel like putting. And I expect the Lord to hold me accountable.

  3. Kim Siever says:

    Oh, good. More excuses for people to put no effort into their sunday callings/assignments.

Leave a Reply

